التعديل العصبي العجزي - إنترستيم

يمكن لمشكلات المثانة أن تكون محرجة ومدمرة. وفي حالات عديدة، يؤدي فقدان السيطرة على التبول أو التبرز إلى إخلال كبير بالحياة اليومية، حيث يتجنب المصابون بتلك الحالات السفر، والذهاب إلى صالة الألعاب الرياضية، وحضور التجمعات الاجتماعية. ولحسن الحظ، فنحن متحمسون أن نكون رواداً في علاج مشكلات المثانة باستخدام التعديل العصبي العجزي (إنتر ستيم)، وهو علاج مثبت الجودة للأفراد الذين يعانون في صمت.

المثانة عضو أجوف بالوني الشكل، يوجد في أسفل البطن كجزء من الجهاز البولي، لتجميع البول. وكلما تقدم المرء في السن، تتغير المثانة، فتفقد مطاطيتها وقدرتها على التمدد والاحتفاظ بنفس كمية البول السابقة. يؤدي ذلك إلى زيادة معدل تواتر التبول. وفي نفس الوقت، يبدأ جدار المثانة وعضلات أرضية الحوض في الضعف، فيضاعف ذلك من صعوبة إفراغ المثانة بشكل كامل، ويسبب تسرب البول.

ولكن وظيفة المثانة يمكن أن تختل كذلك حتى في الشباب الصغار، وفي أغلب المرات لا يكون من الممكن تحديد السبب الجذري للمشكلة. وكأمر واقع، فإن قرابة 17% من الشابات يصبن بتلك المشكلة، دون حالة طبية أخرى سوى تكرار التبول وإلحاحه.

في الظروف الطبيعية، يتحكم المخ في وظيفة المثانة البولية عن طريق إرسال إشارات عبر الحبل الشوكي إلى الأعصاب الحسية بالمثانة، التي تتحكم بدورها في عضلات المثانة وتحدد أنشطتها (الانقباض والاسترخاء) لتمتلئ بالبول وتحتفظ به، لتخرجه في النهاية.

عندما تمتلئ المثانة، تبلغ الأعصاب الحسية المخ بذلك. ونتيجةً لذلك، يصدر المخ إشارات لإفراغ البول، فيسبب ذلك الإحساس بالرغبة في التبول. وفي حالة تلقي الإعصاب الحسية لإشارات زائفة، يمكن أن يسبب ذلك تكرار التبول وإلحاحه رغم إن المثانة غير ممتلئة بعد أو تكاد تكون فارغة. قد تصير تلك الحالة مزعجة جداً للمريض، ويشعر البعض بإحساس التبول كل 15 دقيقة دون القطرة على السيطرة على ذلك الشعور أو كبته. يُسمة ذلك "فرط النشاط الحسي". وفي حالة أخرى، تبدأ المثانة في الانقباض وإفراغ البول دون تحكم، ويُسمى ذلك "فرط النشاط الحركي". يمكن أن تصير تلك الحالة شديدة، وتتأثر جودة الجياة على أي حال. لذلك يحتاج المرضى للمساعدة.

مشكلات المثانة الشائعة:

مشكلات المثانة شائعة بين كل من الرجال والنساء. تتضمن مشكلات المثانة الشائعة التي يشكو منها المرضى:

• عدوى المسالك البولية (UTI) وعدوى المثانة وعدوى الكلية
• الإلحاح البولي
• تكرار التبول
• احتباس البول
• السلس البولي
• التبول الليلي، وإلحاح التبول الذي يقاطع النوم

علاج اضطرابات المثانة:

بصفة عامة، فإن الأدوية هي خط العلاج الأول لمرضى المشكلات البولية لمعالجة أعراضهم. وفي أغلب الوقت، يكون ذلك فعالاً بشكل جيد، ولو لفترة معينة على الأقل. ولكن في بعض الحالات، عندما لا تستجيب الأعراض للعلاج التحفظي أو عند نفاد اختيارات الأدوية، تكون هناك حاجة إلى بدائل.

توجد المشكلة المعاكسة كذلك، وهي عجز المريض عن إفراغ المثانة، لأنها لا تنقبض بشكل كامل أو لا تنقبض على الإطلاق. ونتيجة لذلك، يظل البول في المثانة، بل ويُضطر بعض المرضى إلى تركيب قسطرة لتصريف البول. لا يوجد دواء للمثانة "قاصرة النشاط" لاستعادة وظيفتها.
وحتى إن كان الدواء فعالاً، فبعض المرضى لا يتكيفون معه بسهولة لما له من آثار جانبية. وفي الواقع، من المعروف جيداً إن قرابة نصف المرضى يوقون دواءهم المنتظم للمثانة حيث إنهم يتعبون من الآثار الجانبية.

يعمل علاج التعديل العصبي العجزي عن طريق إعادة التدريب وإعادة التعليم للأعصاب الحسية والحركية للمثانة، والمساعدة على استعادة التحكم في المثانة، بأي طريقة.

ونظراً إلى معدل فاعليته المرتفع في تحسين الأعراض، فقد اعتُبر ذلك هو الخيار الأول لعلاج فرط نشاط المثانة (OAB)، وسلس البول، واحتباس البول كذلك.

ينطوي التعديل العصبي العجزي على استخدام أقطاب ضئيلة الحجم، مثل أسلاك صغيرة، توضع بطول أحد الأعصاب الرئيسية المسؤولة عن التحكم في المثانة. تتصل الأسلاك بـ "مولد نبضات" (بطارية)، وجهاز صغير يشبه منظم ضربات القلب وتخرج منه الكهرباء. تُغرس البطارية في الإليتين وتبث نبضات كهربية مستمرة وخفيفة تساعد على تنبيه الأعصاب العجزية وتصحيح وظيفة المثانة.

بصفة عامة، ينصح بالتعديل العصبي العجزي للمرضى الذين لم يحققوا أي تحسن باستخدام خيارات العلاج التحفظي (مثل الأدوية). ثبتت فاعلية العلاج في تقديم الراحة الفورية وطويلة الأمد من الأعراض المصاحبة لاضطرابات التبول.

التعديل العصبي العجزي لمعالجة مشكلات المثانة:

بعد تقييم أعراضك فيما يتعلق بالتعديل العصبي العجزي، سيناقشك طبيب المسالك البولية بشأن الإجراء ومتطلباته الأساسية، وهو ينطوي على مرحلتين: الاختبارات والغرس. فيما يخص الخطوة الأولى، يوضع سلك صغير على مقربة من العصب العجزي الثالث من أسفل الظهر بطريقة طفيفة التغلغل للغاية وبتوجيه التنظير الومضي. ويجري توصيل ذلك ببطارية خارجية، تسمى "المولد النبضي"، وهو يتضمن إعدادات متعددة لتنبيه المثانة بالطريقة المثلى لكل مريض.

يُنصح المريض باختبار أداء التعديل العصبي العجزي واختباره في المنزل لمدة أسبوع أو أسبوعين. وفي حالة التحسن اللافت للأعراض، وشعور المريض بالاستفادة، سيُغرس القطب والبطارية. وفي غير تلك الحالة، يُنزع سلك الاختبار، وينتهي الأمر.
ونظراً إلى أن ذلك إجراء طفيف التغلغل، فإن فترة التعافي منه تكون سريعة، وتسبب إزعاجاً طفيفاً أو لا تسبب إزعاجاً على الإطلاق، ويستغرق قرابة 30-60 دقيقة.

فوائد التعديل العصبي العجزي (إنتر ستيم)

• إجراء آمن وطفيف التغلغل، دون الحاجة إلى الإقامة بالمستشفى
• فاعلية وسلامة عاليتان
• مثبت الجودة على مدار 20 عاماً
• يحد من أعراض فرط نشاط المثانة (OAB)
• فعال في علاج سلس البول
• فعال في علاج التبول غير المكتمل (غير الانسدادي) أو كسل المثانة
• يمكن تعديله حسب الحاجة
• لا توجد آثار جانبية جهازية
• فور أن يؤدي عمله وفور تحديد الإعدادات المناسبة، ينسى المريض الأمر، دون إزعاج الأدوية اليومية وما شابه

احجز موعداً للتعديل التعديل العصبي العجزي (إنتر ستيم):

لدينا أطباء مسالك بولية حاصلون على شهادة البورد ويعملون ضمن فريق متعدد التخصصات لمعالجة المرضى بالعديد من المشكلات البولية المتنوعة، بما في ذلك الإلحاح البولي والتبول المتكرر، والسلس البولي، وصعوبة إفراغ المثانة. إن كنت تعاني من مشكلات المثانة أو تحتاج لرأي ثانٍ بشأن معالجة اضطرابات المثانة، ندعوك إلى تحديد موعد للاستشارة عن طريق استكمال نموذج الويب الآمن الخاص بنا أدناه.

أطباء قسم التعديل العصبي العجزي - إنترستيم

رينهولد زيمرمان

استشاري جراحة المسالك البولية

الإنجليزية, الألمانية

تحميل المزيد

Sacral Neuromodulation - Interstim

Bladder problems can be embarrassing and devastating. In many cases, loss of urine or bowel control can significantly disrupt daily life as people with these disorders avoid travelling, going to the gym and attending social gatherings. Fortunately, we’re excited to be at the forefront in treating bladder issues with a Sacral Neuromodulation (Interstim) – a well-established treatment for individuals who suffer in silence.

Bladder is a hollow balloon-like organ, located in the lower abdomen as part of the urinary system, to accumulate urine. As one gets older, the bladder changes, losing its elasticity, stretch and ability to hold as much urine as before. This resultantly increases the frequency of trips to the bathroom. At the same time, the bladder wall and pelvic floor muscles start getting weaker, making it more difficult to empty the bladder completely and causing urine to leak.

However, even in a very young age the bladder function can be disturbed – most of the time it is not possible to determine the root cause of the problem. As a matter of fact, around 17% of all younger females experience this problem, with no other medical condition but just the frequency and urgency of urination.

Under normal circumstances, the brain controls the function of the urinary bladder by sending signals through the spinal cord to the sensory nerves of the bladder, which further control the bladder muscles and determine the activities (contraction and relaxation) of muscles to fill, retain and finally release urine.

When the bladder is full, the sensory nerves communicate to the brain. As a result, the brain generates signals to evacuate the urine, causing a sensation to void. In case the sensory nerves receive false signals, they can cause urinary frequency and urgency although the bladder isn’t full yet or even almost empty. This condition might get very annoying for the patient – some people feel the sensation to urinate every 15 minutes without being able to control or suppress the feeling. This is called “sensory overactivity”. In case, the bladder even starts contracting and evacuating the urine without control it is called “motoric overactivity”. The condition can become severe, in any way, the quality of life is affected. That is why patients need help.  

Common Bladder Problems:

Bladder problems are common among both men and women. Common bladder problems that patients complain of include:

  • Urinary Tract Infections (UTIs), bladder infection and kidney infection
  • Urinary urgency
  • Urinary frequency
  • Urinary retention
  • Urinary incontinence
  • Nocturia, urge to urinate that interrupt sleep

 

Treatment for Bladder Disorders:

Generally, medication is the first line of treatment for patients with urinary problems to manage their symptoms. Most of the time, this works well, at least for a certain while. But in some cases, when symptoms don’t respond to conservative treatment or the medication has been exhausted, alternatives are needed.

The opposite problem does exist as well – the patient is unable to empty the bladder since it doesn’t contract completely or not at all. As a result, urine remains in the bladder and some patient do even have to catheterize themselves in order to drain the urine. There is no medicine for an “under-active” bladder to restore it’s function.

Even if the medicine is effective some patients don’t come along with it well because of side effects. In fact, it is well known that almost half of the patients do discontinue the regular medicine for the bladder since they have got tired of side effects.

 

Sacral Neuromodulation treatment works by re-training and re-educating the sensory and motoric nerves of the bladder and help to restore urine control, in either way.

Due to its high rate of effectiveness in improving the symptoms, it has been considered a top choice for the treatment of Overactive Bladder (OAB), Urinary Incontinence as well as urinary retention.

Sacral neuromodulation comes with very tiny leads, like small wires, which are placed alongside one of the main nerves in charge for the bladder control. The wires are connected to an “impulse generator” (battery), a small device similar a pacemaker for the heart where the electricity comes from. The battery is implanted in the buttock and emits a continuous, mild electrical pulse that helps stimulate sacral nerves and correct the bladder function.

Generally, Sacral Neuromodulation is advised to patients who have not achieved any improvement from conservative treatment options (such as medications). The treatment has proven effective in providing immediate yet long-term relief from symptoms associated with urinary disorders.

Sacral Neuromodulation for the Management of Bladder Problems:

After an evaluation of your symptoms for the Sacral Neuromodulation, your Urologist will discuss with you the procedure and its pre-requisites, which involve two stages, testing and implantation. For the first step, a small wire is placed near the third sacral nerve from the lower back in a very minimally invasive way under fluoroscopy control. It is connected to an external battery, the “impulse generator” which has multiple settings to stimulate the bladder in the way which is the best for the individual patient. 

The patient is advised to test and monitor the performance of Sacral Neuromodulation at home for 1 to 2 weeks. In case there is a significant improvement of symptoms, and the patient feels a benefit the permanent electrode and battery will be implanted. Otherwise, the test wire is removed, and it is done.

Since it’s a minimally invasive procedure, it has speedy recovery time, causes minimal or no discomfort, and requires approximately 30 -60 minutes.

Benefits of Sacral Neuromodulation (Interstim)

  • Minimally invasive, safe procedure which requires no hospitalization
  • High efficacy and safety
  • Established since 20 years
  • Reduces in the symptoms of overactive bladder (OAB)
  • Effective for the treatment of urinary incontinence
  • Effective for the treatment of incomplete urination (non-obstructive) or lazy bladder
  • Can be adjusted as needed
  • No systemic side effects
  • Once it functions and the correct settings have been defined the patient can forget about it, no bothering with daily medication and so on. 

 

Book an Appointment for Sacral Neuromodulation (Interstim):

We have board-certified urologists who are working in an interdisciplinary team to treat  patients with various urinary problems including urinary urgency and frequency, urinary incontinence and difficulty emptying the bladder. If you suffer from bladder issues or need a second opinion on the management of bladder disorders, we invite you to schedule a consultation by filling out our secure web form below.

Doctors Panel of Sacral Neuromodulation - Interstim

Reinhold Zimmermann

Consultant Urologist, Aviation Medical Specialist

English, German

Load More