متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء

أطباء قسم متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء

تحميل المزيد

يمكن للتعايش مع متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء، أو IBS، أن يكون مزعجاً. ولكن مع العلاج السليم وتغييرات أسلوب الحياة، يمكن معالجة الأعراض لتحسين نوعية الحياة. تعرف على ما يقوم به الأطباء في المستشفى الأمريكي في دبي لمساعدة مرضى متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء.
متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء، أو "IBS"، هي حالة تسبب ألم البطن ومشكلات في التبرز. يتعرض بعض المصابين بهذه الحالة للتبرز المائي المتكرر (الإسهال). ولا يتبرز البعض الآخر بالقدر الكافي (إمساك). ويتعرض بعض المرضى للإسهال والإمساك بالتناوب.

يمكن أن تتباين أعراض متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء من حيث الشدة والمدة من شخص إلى آخر، وفي بعض الحالات، يمكن أن تسبب كذلك تلفاً بمنطقة الأمعاء. رغم إن متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء لا تزيد فرص إصابة المرضى بسرطانات الجهاز الهضمي، خلافاً لمرض الأمعاء الالتهابي، ولكنه لا يزال يسبب الانزعاج، ويؤثر بصفة عامة على حياتك.

أعراض وأسباب متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء:

لا تكون أعراض متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء دائمة ولكنها عندما تزول، يمكن أن تعود مرة أخرى. وفيما يلي أعراض متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء:
- ألم البطن والتقلصات
- الإمساك
- الإسهال (أو التبرز التبادلي)
- الغازات والانتفاخ

يمكن أن يتباين ألم البطن والتقلصات الناجمة عن متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء، ويتوقف ذلك على التبرز. قد يشعر المرضى بالراحة من التقلصات بعد التبرز، ويتوقف ذلك أيضاً على معدل التبرّز.
ورغم إن الرجال والنساء يصابون بنفس الأعراض، إلا أن نسبتها تكون أكثر تواتراً لدى النساء، وخاصةً قرب وقت الحيض. يصاب النساء ممن يتعرضن لانقطاع الطمث لأعراض أقل بصفة عامة.


وفي بعض الحالات، ارتبطت متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء كذلك بالقلق والتوتر. يتحكم جهازنا العصبي إلى حد ما في جهازنا الهضمي، ولذلك فعندما نتعرض للتوتر، يمكن أن يصاب جهازنا الهضمي بفرط النشاط. ويعتقد بعض الخبراء كذلك إن الجهاز المناعي، الذي يؤثر كذلك على مستويات التوتر لدينا، يؤثر على متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء.

السبب الجذري لمتلازمة تهيج الأمعاء مجهول، ولكن ضعف الجهاز المناعي وحساسية القولون كذلك يمكن أن يزيدا احتمالات الإصابة بمتلازمة تهيج الأمعاء. يمكن للعدوى البكتيرية التي تحدث في الجهاز الهضمي أن تؤدي كذلك إلى متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء أثناء مراحل ما بعد العدوى.

هل هناك اختبار لمتلازمة تهيج الأمعاء؟

لا يوجد اختبار معيّن لتشخيص متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء. ولكن ينبغي أن يقوم الأطباء ببعض الاختبارات للتحقق من الحالات التي تحاكي متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء على سبيل المثال لاستبعاد مرض التهاب الأمعاء والتهاب القولون.

علاج متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء:

لا يوجد علاج محدد يشفي تماماً من متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء، ولكن توجد دوماً طُرق لتخفيف أعراضه. يمكن أن يوصي الأطباء بتغييرات للنظام الغذائي لتحسين جودة الحياة، ولكن إن كانت الأعراض شديدة، فقد توصف أدوية كذلك. تجدر الإشارة كذلك إلى أن الأدوية يمكن أن تعمل بطريق مختلفة من شخص إلى آخر، ولذلك فمن المهم استشارة الطبيب لتحديد الدواء الأنسب لك.

تستخدم بعض أدوية متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء للسيطرة على كل الأعراض أو بعضها. قد يوصي الطبيب بالأدوية التي يمكن أن تسيطر على التشنجات العضلية، ومضادات الالتهاب ثلاثية الحلقة لمعالجة الألم، أو قد يصفوا أدوية لعلاج الإمساك المصاحب لذلك (مثل المليّنات)، أو أدوية للإسهال. ومن المهم كذلك أن تبلغ طبيبك بأي علاجات عشبية أو أي أدوية تُصرف دون وصفة طبية تتناولها حالياً أو تناولتها في وقت سابق.

يمكن كذلك لتغييرات النظام الغذائي أن تؤثر بدرجة كبيرة جداً على متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء وتوفر للمرضى راحة من الأعراض. يمكن للحد من تناول أنواع بعينها من الطعام، مثل البقوليات والأطعمة المقلية والسكر والألبان، أن يساعد على الحد من الأعراض. ويمكن لأطعمة مثل الزنجبيل والبابونج والنعناع كذلك أن تساعد على الحد من أعراض متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء. وخلافاً للنظام الغذائي، فإن القيام بتغييرات معينة بأسلوب الحياة يمكن أن يساعد كذلك على تحسين جودة الحياة وتخفيف أعراض متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء. وفيما يلي تغييرات أسلوب الحياة التي يمكنك اتباعها:

- ممارسة التمارين الرياضية بانتظام
- تجنب المشروبات التي تحتوي على الكافيين والتي يمكن أن تحفز الأمعاء
- العلاج أو التأمل للسيطرة على التوتر
- الإكثار من تناول مركبات البروبيوتيك
- تناول وجبات أصغر
تجنب الأطعمة الحارة

احجز موعداً:

إن كنت تعاني أعراض متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء، وكنت تود استشارة أحد الأطباء الخبراء، فيمكنك القيام بذلك عن طريق الاتصال بنا من خلال النموذج المقدم على موقع الويب الخاص بنا. في المستشفى الأمريكي في دبي، نهدف إلى مساعدة مرضانا لتحسين جودة حياتهم. أطباء الجهاز الهضمي لدينا خبراء بتشخيص وعلاج مجموعة واسعة النطاق من أمراض الجهاز الهضمي، لضمان تلقي مرضاهم أحدث خدمات الرعاية الصحية الأنسب لاحتياجاتهم.

Irritable bowel syndrome

Irritable bowel syndrome, or IBS, can be uncomfortable to live with. However, with the right treatment and lifestyle changes, symptoms can be managed to improve quality of life. Learn what are doctors at American Hospital Dubai are doing to help patients with IBS.

Irritable bowel syndrome, or "IBS," is a condition that causes abdominal pain and problems with bowel movements. Some people with the condition have frequent, watery bowel movements (diarrhea). Others do not have enough bowel movements (constipation). Some patients switch back and forth between diarrhea and constipation.

Symptoms of irritable bowel syndrome can differ in severity as well as duration in each person and in some cases, may also cause damage to the intestinal area. Though IBS does not increase the chances of patients developing gastrointestinal cancers, unlike IBD, however, it can still cause discomfort and generally affect your life.

Symptoms and Causes of Irritable Bowel Syndrome:

Symptoms of IBS are not persistent but once they are resolved, they can keep coming back. Symptoms of irritable bowel syndrome are:

- Abdominal pain and cramping
- Constipation
- Diarrhea (or alternating bowel movement)
- Gas and Bloating

Abdominal pain and cramps caused by IBS can vary depending on bowel movement. Patients may feel relief from cramps after a bowel movement as well as how often they have a bowel movement.

Though men and women experience the same symptoms, they are much more frequently reported by women especially closer to the time of mensuration. Women experiencing menopause generally have fewer symptoms.

In some cases, IBS has also been linked with anxiety and stress. Our nervous system has some control over our digestive system, which is why when we are under stress, our digestive system can become overactive. Some experts also believe that the immune system, which impacts our levels of stress, also affects IBS.

The root cause of irritable bowel syndrome is unknown but having a weak immune system as well as a sensitive colon can increase the chances of developing IBS. Bacterial infections occurring in the gastrointestinal tract can also lead to IBS during postinfectious stages.

Is there a test for IBS?

There is no specific test to diagnose IBS. However, the doctors need to do some tests to check out for conditions that mimic IBS for example to rule out inflammatory bowel disease and colitis.

Treatment for Irritable Bowel Syndrome:

There is no single treatment to completely cure IBS but there are ways to achieve relief from its symptoms. Doctors may recommend dietary changes to improve quality of life but if symptoms are severe, medications may also be prescribed. It is important to note that medications may work differently for each individual person which is why it is important to consult with your doctor to determine what will work best for you.

Some medications for IBS are used to control either all the symptoms or specific ones. Your doctor may recommend drugs that can control muscle spasms, tricyclic antidepressants to manage pain or prescribe medicines to treat associated constipation (such as laxatives), or medicines for diarrhea. It is also important to let your doctor know of any herbal remedies or over-the-counter drugs that you might be taking beforehand.

Dietary changes can also hugely affect IBS and provide patients with symptom relief. Cutting out certain types of foods such as beans, fried foods, sugar, and dairy may help in reducing symptoms. Foods such as ginger, chamomile, and peppermint may also help to reduce IBS symptoms. Apart from diet, bringing forth certain lifestyle changes can also help in improving the quality of life and lessen the symptoms of IBS. Lifestyle changes that you could follow are:

- Regularly exercising
- Eliminating caffeinated beverages that can stimulate the intestines from your diet
- Therapy or meditation to control stress
- Increasing intake of probiotics
- Eating smaller meals
- Avoiding spicy foods

Book an Appointment:

If you are experiencing symptoms of irritable bowel syndrome and would like to consult one of our expert physicians, you can do so by contacting us through the form provided on our website. At American Hospital, our aim is to help our patients to improve their quality of life. Our gastroenterologists are experienced in diagnosing and treating a vast number of digestive diseases, ensuring that their patients are given state-of-the-art healthcare services that are suited to their needs.

Doctors Panel of Irritable bowel syndrome

Ali Al Fazari

Chief of Internal Medicine

Arabic, English

Carla Abou Fadel

Specialist Gastroenterology

Arabic, English, French

Majidah Bukhari

Consultant Gastroenterology

Arabic, English

Muhammad Toqeer

Director of Gastroenterology Center of Excellence, Aviation Medical Specialist

English, Punjabi, Urdu

Sinan Al-Rubaye

Consultant Gastroenterology and Hepatology

Arabic, English

Load More