داء الأمعاء الالتهابي

يمكن لداء الأمعاء الالتهابي أن يكون مزعجاً، وإن تُرك دون علاج، فيمكن أن يعرض المريض لخطر سرطان القولون. اكتشف العلاجات التي يقدمها خبراء طب الجهاز الهضمي لدينا لمواجهة داء الأمعاء الالتهابي وغير ذلك من اضطرابات الجهاز الهضمي.

يُطلق على الالتهاب المزمن بالجهاز الهضمي مصطلح متلازمة التهاب الأمعاء وتُصنف تلك الحالة إلى صنفين آخرين، هما داء كرون والتهاب القولون التقرحي. يمكن لداء كرون أن يصيب أي جزء من الجهاز الهضمي، ويكون المكان الأكثر شيوعاً هو الأمعاء الدقيقة والغليظة، على شكل بقع. وعلى صعيد آخر، فإن مرض التهاب القولون التقرحي يحدث في المستقيم وفي الأمعاء الغليظة فقط لا غير. يوجد الالتهاب الناجم عن التهاب القولون التقرحي في الطبقة الداخلية من بطانة القولون بينما يسبب داء كرون الالتهاب في طبقات متعددة من الجهاز الهضمي.

تجدر الإشارة كذلك إن داء الأمعاء الالتهابي يختلف عن متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء ويختلف كل منهما عن الآخر من حيث السبب والعلاج. يمكن لداء الأمعاء الالتهابي أحياناً أن يحاكي أعراض متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء أو العكس بالعكس. تؤثر متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء على وظائف أمعاء المريض، ويسبب ذلك إما تقلصها أكثر من المعتاد أو أقل من المعتاد. وخلافاً لداء الأمعاء الالتهابي، فإن متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء لا تسبب التهاب الأمعاء، ولذلك قد لا يستطيع الأطفال رصده عن طريق فحوص التصوير. ويمكن أن يُصاب مرضى داء الأمعاء الالتهابي كذلك بأعراض متلازمة تهيج الأمعاء، ولكن العكس غير صحيح.

أسباب وأعراض داء الأمعاء الالتهابي:

رغم إن الباحثين لم يستطيعوا تحديد السبب الجذري لداء الأمعاء الالتهابي، فهم يعتقدون إن هناك عوامل معينة، مثل العوامل الوراثية، تلعب دوراً هاماً في التسبب في هذا الاضطراب. وقد تتضمن بعض الأسباب الأخرى لداء الأمعاء الالتهابي ما يلي:
- استجابة الجهاز المناعي: في المرضى ذوي الاستجابة المناعية الضعيفة، يُعامل الجسم معاملة المواد الغريبة عن الجسم، ويراه الجهاز المناعي بمثابة تهديد له. ولمواجهة هذا التهديد، يطلق الجهاز المناعي أجساماً مضادة لمكافحته، مما يؤدي بدوره إلى إصابة المرضى بأعراض داء الأمعاء الالتهابي.

- العوامل البيئية: يمكن للبيئة المحيطة أن تلعب دوراً هاماً في تعريضك لمحفّزات معينة يمكن أن تسبب داء الأمعاء الالتهابي.

يمكن لأعراض داء الأمعاء الالتهابي أن تكون خفيفة أو شديدة، وقد تظهر فجأة أو تتراكم بالتدريج. وفيما يلي الأعراض الأكثر شيوعاً لدى مرضى داء الأمعاء الالتهابي:

- ألم البطن
- الغازات
- الانتفاخ
- فقدان الشهية
- وجود دم أو مخاط في البراز
- الإسهال أو الإمساك
- إلحاح التبرز

وفي بعض الحالات النادرة، يمكن أن تؤدي متلازمة التهاب الأمعاء كذلك إلى الأعراض التالية، حسب حدة الحالة:

- الحمى
- التعب
- حكّة العينين
- ألم المفاصل
- الغثيان
- القيء
- الطفح الجلدي
- القروح
- قصور البصر

وإن تُرك داء الأمعاء الالتهابي دون علاج، تزداد احتمالية تعرض المرضى لخطر الإصابة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم، بالمقارنة بعامة الناس. وفيما يلي بعض المضاعفات الأخرى التي يمكن أن تنشأ بسبب داء الأمعاء الالتهابي:

- فقر الدم
- حصوات الكلى
- تضيق الشرج
- هشاشة العظام
- الناسور الشرجي
- ثقب الأمعاء مما يتطلب عملية جراحية
- مرض الكبد

تشخيص داء الأمعاء الالتهابي وعلاجه:

حيث إن داء كرون والتهاب القولون التقرحي يسببا أعراضاً متشابهة إلى حد كبير، يوصي الأطباء بسلسلة من الفحوص للوصول إلى التشخيص الصحيح. كل من فحوص الدم الكاملة واختبارات البراز مهم لاكتشاف أي علامات على الالتهاب. وفيما يلي قائمة ببعض الاختبارات الأكثر فائدة في التشخيص، والتي قد يجريها الأطباء حسب تاريخك المرضي وأعراضك:

- تنظير القولون
- الأشعة المقطعية أو أشعة الرنين المغناطيسي
- التنظير الباطني الكبسولي
- التنظير الباطني العلوي
- التنظير المرن للقولون السيني
- التصوير التنظيري بالموجات فوق الصوتية

تتباين علاجات داء الأمعاء الالتهابي حسب إصابة المريض بداء كرون أو بالتهاب القولون التقرحي، وكذلك حسب حدة المرض. يمكن أن يصف الأطباء أدوية للسيطرة على التهاب الأمعاء، وهو ما يمكن أن يتضمن:

- المضادات الحيوية
- أدوية الأمينوغليكوسيد
- العلاجات البيولوجية (للسيطرة على المناعة)
- الستيرويدات القشرية (لنوبة الأعراض الحادة)

وتتضمن الخيارات العلاجات الجراحية كذلك إن تدهورت شدة الحالة، ولم تعد الأدوية تخفف من أعراض داء الأمعاء الالتهابي. يتعاون خبراء الطب الباطني مع الجراحين في أسلوب متعدد التخصصات لتقرير ما إذا كان العلاج الجراحي ضرورياً. يزيل الجراح القسم المصاب من الأمعاء ويقوم بتوصيل الطرفين السليمين من الأمعاء ببعضهما البعض. يتكيف الجزء المتبقي من الأمعاء بعد ذلك ويبدأ في أداء وظيفته بصورة طبيعية، ولكن بعض المرضى قد ينتكسوا رغم ذلك، وفي تلك الحالة قد يحتاجون استئصال الأمعاء مرة أخرى. في حالة التهاب القولون التقرحي، يمكن أن يجري الجراحون استئصال القولون أو استئصال القولون والمستقيم لمكافحة أعراض داء الأمعاء الالتهابي.

يهدف أطباء الجهاز الهضمي في المستشفى الأمريكي في دبي إلى علاج الحالة بالأدوية لتجنب الحاجة إلى الجراحة.

احجز موعداً:

إن كنت تعاني أعراض داء الأمعاء الالتهابي، وكنت تود استشارة أحد الأطباء الخبراء، فيمكنك الاتصال بنا من خلال النموذج المقدم على موقع الويب الخاص بنا. يضم المستشفى الأمريكي في دبي أطباء جهاز هضمي حاصلين على شهادة البورد الأمريكي والبريطاني ، وهم مؤهلون للتعامل مع مجموعة واسعة النطاق من أمراض الجهاز الهضمي.

أطباء قسم داء الأمعاء الالتهابي

علي الفزاري

رئيس قسم طب الجهاز الهضمي

عربي, الإنجليزية

كارلا أبو فاضل

أخصائية أمراض الجهاز الهضمي

عربي, الإنجليزية, الفرنسية

ماجدة بخاري

استشارية طب الجهاز الهضمي

عربي, الإنجليزية

محمد توقير

مدير قسم أمراض الجهاز الهضمي

الإنجليزية, البنجابية, أوردو

سنان الربيعي

استشاري طب الجهاز الهضمي والكبد

عربي, الإنجليزية

تحميل المزيد

Inflammatory Bowel Disease

Inflammatory Bowel Disease can be discomforting and if left untreated, may also pose risks for colon cancer. Discover the treatments provided by our expert gastroenterologists to counter IBD and other gastroenterological disorders.

The chronic inflammation of the gastrointestinal tract is known as Inflammatory Bowel Syndrome and the condition is further classified into two categories, Crohn’s disease, and ulcerative colitis. Crohn’s disease can affect any part of the gastrointestinal tract, most commonly the small intestine and large, appearing in patches. Whereas ulcerative colitis disease occurs in the rectum and the large intestine only. Inflammation caused by ulcerative colitis is found in the inner layer of the colon’s lining while Crohn’s disease causes inflammation in multiple layers of the gastrointestinal tract.

It is important to note that inflammatory bowel disease is different than irritable bowel syndrome and the cause and treatment for both are different. Sometimes Inflammatory bowel disease can mimic symptoms of IBS or vice versa. Irritable bowel syndrome affects a patient's bowel functions which cause them to either contract more or less often than usual. Unlike inflammatory bowel disease, irritable bowel syndrome does not cause inflammation in the intestines which is why doctors may not be able to detect it through imaging scans. It is possible for patients with IBD to develop symptoms of IBS but not vice versa.

Causes and Symptoms of IBD:

Though researchers have not been able to determine the root cause of inflammatory bowel disease, they believe that certain factors such as genetics play an important role in causing the disorder. Some other causes of IBD include:

- Immune system response: In patients with a weak immune system response, food is typically mistaken as foreign substances that are seen as a threat by the immune system. In order to counter this threat, the immune system release antibodies to fight which then results in patients experiencing IBD symptoms.

- Environmental factors: Your surrounding can play an important role in exposing you to certain triggers that can be the cause of IBD.

Symptoms of inflammatory bowel disease can either be mild or severe, as well as appear suddenly or build up gradually. The most common symptoms of IBD experienced by patients are:

- Abdominal pain
- Gas
- Bloating
- Loss of appetite
- Blood or mucus in stool
- Diarrhea or constipation
- Bowel urgency

In some rare cases, inflammatory bowel syndrome may also cause the following symptoms depending on severity of the condition:

- Fever
- Fatigue
- Itchy eyes
- Joint pain
- Nausea
- Vomiting
- Skin rashes
- Ulcers
- Vision impairment

If inflammatory bowel disease is left untreated, patients are at a greater risk at developing colorectal cancer than general population. Some of the other complications that may arise due to IBD are:

- Anemia
- Kidney Stones
- Anal stricture
- Osteoporosis
- Anal fistula
- Perforated bowel requiring operation
- Liver disease

Diagnosis and Treatment of Inflammatory Bowel Disease:

Since Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis cause symptoms that are largely similar, doctors recommend a series of in order to reach a correct diagnosis. Complete blood work and stool tests are important in order to determine any signs of inflammation. Following is a list of some more diagnostic tests that your doctor may perform depending on your history and symptoms:

- Colonoscopy
- CT scan or MRI
- Capsule endoscopy
- Upper endoscopy
- Flexible sigmoidoscopy
- Endoscopic ultrasound

Treatments for inflammatory bowel disease vary on whether the patient has Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis and also depending of severity of the disease. Doctors may prescribe medication in order to control intestinal inflammation which can include:

- Antibiotics
- Aminosalicylates
- Biologics (To control immunity)
- Corticosteroids (For the acute attack of symptoms)

Surgical treatments are also an option if the severity of the condition worsens, and medications no longer provide relief from IBD symptoms. Medical experts work together with the surgeons in a multi-disciplinary way to decide if surgical treatment is needed. The surgeon removes the affected bowel segment and connects the healthy ends of the bowels together. The remaining bowel then adapts and begins to function normally, however, some patients may have a recurrence in which case they may require another bowel resection. In the case of the ulcerative colon, surgeons may perform a colectomy or a proctocolectomy to counter IBD symptoms.
Our aim as gastroenterologists is the manage the condition with medications to avoid or obviate any need for surgery

Book an Appointment:

If you are experiencing symptoms of IBD and would like to consult one of our expert doctors, you can contact us through the form provided on our website. American Hospital Dubai houses US board-certified/ UK gastroenterologists who are equipped in dealing with a wide spectrum of gastroenterological diseases.

Doctors Panel of Inflammatory Bowel Disease

Ali Al Fazari

Chief of Internal Medicine

Arabic, English

Carla Abou Fadel

Specialist Gastroenterology

Arabic, English, French

Majidah Bukhari

Consultant Gastroenterology

Arabic, English

Muhammad Toqeer

Director of Gastroenterology Center of Excellence, Aviation Medical Specialist

English, Punjabi, Urdu

Sinan Al-Rubaye

Consultant Gastroenterology and Hepatology

Arabic, English

Load More