الاكتئاب المقاوم للعلاج

حوالي 30% من المرضى الذين تُشخص إصابتهم بالاكتئاب لا يستجيبوا بصورة كاملة للعلاج وقد تستمر معاناتهم من الأعراض رغم المحاولات المتعددة باستخدام الأدوية و/أو العلاج. تُعتبر تلك الفئة من المرضى مقاومة للعلاج وتُقدم لهم توليفة أدوية أكثر تعقيداً، والعلاج بالصدمات الكهربية، وفي السنوات القليلة الماضية ظهر علاج جديد يسمى إيسكيتامين.

ما هو الإيسكيتامين:

الإيسكيتامين هو أحد نواتج جزيء الكيتامين، وهو عقار تخدير معروف يُستخدم منذ عقود من قبل الأطباء البشريين والبيطريين في العمليات الجراحية. توصلت الأبحاث المكثفة إلى أن هذا الدواء له أثر لافت وسريع نسبياً على أعراض الاكتئاب والأفكار الانتحارية، مما أدى إلى اعتماده في عام 2019 من طرف إدارة الغذاء والدواء (Food and Drug Administration, FDA) لعلاج الاكتئاب المقاوم للعلاج. ويوصف الإيسكيتامين (سبرافاتو) حالياً في العيادات في الولايات المتحدة وأوروبا والعديد من الدول، بما في ذلك الإمارات العربية المتحدة. ويتوفر على شكل بخاخ للأنف ويمكن أن يتناوله المرضى بأنفسهم وهو مختلف عن الكيتامين الوريدي (IV) المستخدم كذلك في بعض المراكز.

العلاج بالإيسكيتامين في المستشفى الأمريكي في دبي:

يتمتع أطباؤنا وممرضونا في قسم الصحة النفسية والسلوكية بالمستشفى الأمريكي في دبي بالتدريب والخبرة العالية على استخدام الإيسكيتامين. وحيث إن هذا الدواء لا يناسب الجميع وليس من المضمون دوماً أن يؤدي إلى نتيجة إيجابية، فالتقييم المسبق بواسطة أحد أطبائنا النفسيين إلزامي قبل وصف الدواء واستخدامه. أثناء الاستشارة، يراجع الأخصائي تاريخك الطبي والنفسي ويناقش معك جميع الأمور اللوجستية والعلاجية حتى تستطيع اتخاذ قرار مستنير بشأن ما إذا كان عليك الشروع في دورة علاجية باستخدام الإيسكيتامين أم لا.

ما الذي ينبغي توقعه:

بعد أن تقابل أحد الأطباء وتتخذ قرار بشأن استخدام الإيسكيتامين، سترتب لك ممرضة موعداً لبدء العلاج. ستتلقى جميع التعليمات بشأن ما ينبغي القيام به مقدماً وكيفية الاستعداد للزيارة. وعند الوصول، ستخضع لفحص بدني وسيوجهك طاقمنا إلى مساحة خاصة حيث ستعطي نفسك البخاخ الأنفي تحت الإشراف الطبي. يستغرق الإجراء قرابة 10-15 دقيقة ولكنك ستحتاج حينذاك للبقاء في بيئة مريحة في قسمنا لمدة ساعة على الأقل، وسيُسمح لك بالمغادرة بعد فحص بدني نهائي. ينبغي أن تتوقع الحضور 3 مرات في الأسبوع الأول، ثم بمعدل أقل مع تقدم العلاج. لا توقف أدويتك الأخرى دون تعليمات الطبيب. وبصفة عامة، يمكنك المداومة على أنشطتك اليومية الطبيعية أثناء الخضوع للجلسات.

حدد موعداً:

لمزيد من المعلومات بشأن العلاج باستخدام الإيسكيتامين، ندعوك إلى تحديد موعد للاستشارة مع أخصائيي رعاية الصحة النفسية لدينا عن طريق استكمال نموذجنا الآمن عبر الإنترنت.

أطباء قسم الاكتئاب المقاوم للعلاج

جوزيف الخوري

استشاري الطب النفسي

عربي, الإنجليزية, الفرنسية

تحميل المزيد

Treatment Resistant Depression

About Treatment-Resistant Depression (TRD):

About 30% of patients diagnosed with depression will not respond fully to treatment and may continue to suffer from symptoms despite several attempts with medication and/or therapy. This category of patients is considered Treatment-Resistant and offered a more complex medication combination, ECT and for the past few years, a new treatment called Esketamine.

What is Esketamine:

Esketamine is a byproduct of the Ketamine molecule, a known anesthetic agent used for decades by doctors and veterinarians for operative procedures in humans and animals. Extensive research has established that this medication can have a significant and relatively fast impact on depressive symptoms and suicidal thoughts leading to it being approved in 2019 by the US Food and Drugs Administration (FDA) for the treatment of treatment-resistant depression. Esketamine (Spravato) is now being prescribed in clinics in the US, Europe, and many countries including the UAE. It comes as a nasal spray that is self-administered by patients. This is different from Intravenous (IV) Ketamine that is also used in some centers.

Esketamine Treatment at American Hospital Dubai:

Our doctors and nurses at the Psychiatry and Behavioral Health Department at American Hospital Dubai are trained and experienced at the use of Esketamine. As this medication does not suit everyone and is not guaranteed to always produce a positive result a prior assessment with one of our psychiatrists is mandatory. During this consultation, they will review your medical and psychiatric history and discuss all the logistical and therapeutic matters so that you are able to make an informed choice on whether to go ahead with a course of Esketamine.

What to expect:

Once you have seen one of the doctors and a decision has been taken that Esketamine is the right treatment for you, a nurse will arrange for you to come at a pre-agreed timing to start the treatment. You will be given instructions on what to do in advance and how to prepare for the visit. On arrival, you will be checked physically and guided to a private area where you will self-administer the nasal spray under supervision. The procedure takes approximately 10-15 minutes but you will then need to stay in a relaxing environment in our department for at least one hour. After a final physical checkup, you will be allowed to leave. You should expect to attend 3 times in the initial week than at a reduced frequency as the treatment advances. Do not stop your other medication unless instructed by your doctor. Generally, you can carry on with your normal daily living between sessions.

Schedule an Appointment:

For more information on treatment with Esketamine treatment, we invite you to schedule a consultation with our mental care specialists by filling out our secure online form.

Doctors Panel of Treatment Resistant Depression

Joseph El-Khoury

Consultant Psychiatrist

Arabic, English, French

Load More