خدمة الصرع الشاملة للأطفال

خدمة الصرع الشاملة للأطفال:

يقدم لكم المستشفى الأمريكي في دبي خدمات شاملة للأطفال المصابين بالصرع. يرأس قسم خدمات الصرع اختصاصي صرع الأطفال الدكتور عبيد شاه، الذي يتمتع بأكثر من عقد من الخبرة بتقييم مرضى الصرع. يقدم لكم القسم مجموعة من أحدث الاختبارات العصبية التشخيصية لتحديد السبب الكامن وراء المشكلة، وتقديم خيارات العلاج الأمثل لكل حالة.

ما هو الصرع؟

الوصف

هو حالة تصيب الجهاز العصبي، وتظهر لدى المريض على شكل نوبات متكررة من التشنجات. تحدث التشنجات بسبب إرسال إشارات غير طبيعية من تكتلات الخلايا أو العصبونات (الخلايا العصبية) في الدماغ.

الأسباب

يمكن أن يكون الصرع لدى الأطفال بسبب خلل في نمو الدماغ، أو لأسباب جينية، أو بسبب إصابات الرأس، أو الحمى، أو عدوى في الدماغ أو الأغشية المحيطة به (الالتهاب السحائي)، أو موه الدماغ (زيادة السائل الموجود داخل الدماغ).

الأعراض

قد يعاني الأطفال من مرضى الصرع من أحساسات وانفعالات وسلوكيات غير طبيعية، بالإضافة إلى التشنجات، والاختلاجات العضلية، وحتى فقدان الوعي.

التشخيص

يمكن أن يكفي التحليل التفصيلي للأحداث (الدلائل) بالإضافة للفحص البدني الدقيق للتوصل لتشخيص الصرع. وعادة ما تكون هناك حاجة لإجراء المزيد من الاختبارات لتحديد نوع الصرع ومحاولة التوصل إلى السبب الكامن. قد يقترح الطبيب إجراء تخطيط لكهربية الدماغ (EEG) للتحقق من النشاط الكهربي للدماغ. يسجل تخطيط كهربية الدماغ النشاط الكهربي للدماغ عن طريق أقطاب متصلة بفروة الرأس. يمكن أن يكون النشاط الكهربي لدى الأطفال المصابين بالصرع مضطربًا في تخطيط كهربية الدماغ. وقد يجري الطبيب أيضاً التصوير بالأشعة للدماغ، مثل التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي أو بانبعاث البوزيترون.

العلاج

يتوقف علاج الصرع على سببه الكامن. والأدوية المضادة للصرع هي أهم أركان العلاج. يتمتع أطباء أعصاب الأطفال وأخصائيو صرع الأطفال بالخبرة بالتوصل إلى الدواء الأفضل حسب نوع الصرع.

ماذا لو لم تكن الأدوية فعالة؟

يمكن أن يكون ثلث مرضى الصرع مصابين بصرع مقاوم للأدوية. إن لم تكن الأدوية فعالة، فينبغي فحص الطفل بواسطة أخصائي الصرع الذي يتمتع بخبرة إضافية تكفي لتحديد مسار التصرف الأمثل. قد يقترح أخصائي الصرع الجراحة أو زراعة أجهزة مثل منبهات العصب الحائر. يمكن أن يستفيد بعض مرضى الصرع من جراحة الدماغ لإزالة خلايا الدماغ غير الطبيعية للسيطرة على النوبات الصرعية. وفي بعض الحالات، يُزرع جهاز يسمى منبه العصب الحائر (VNS) تحت جلد الصدر، مثل منظم ضربات القلب، للسيطرة على عدد النوبات الصرع. بالنسبة لبعض الأطفال المصابين بمرض الرصع، قد يوصي الطبيب باتباع نظام غذائي خاص يسمى النظام الغذائي الكيتوني للمساعدة على الوقاية من نوبات الصرع.

عيادة النوبة الصرعية الأولى

من الشائع الإصابة بالدوار أو الدوخة لدى الأطفال وقد تكون هذه الأعراض من أعراض صرع الطفولة. في عيادة النوبة الصرعية الأولى، نقدم تقييمًا شاملًا للدوار أو الدوخة، بما في ذلك التقييم السريري، والمراجعة التفصيلية للدلائل السريرية، وغير ذلك من المعلومات للتوصل إلى تشخيص ما إذا كان ذلك الدوار أو الدوخة يمثل نوبة صرعية أم لا. وإن كان ذلك يمثل نوبة صرعية، نجري تقييمًا لمتلازمة صرع الطفولة الكامن ونوصي بالعلاج الملائم.

يستحسن فحص الأطفال المصابين بالدوار أو الدوخة خلال أيام من "نوبتهم" الأولى لعدة أسباب:

• للتعرف إن كانت تلك نوبة صرعية، حيث إن معدل التشخيص الخاطئ يتباين بين 5 و23% في دراسات مختلفة، وهناك أسباب محتملة قد تحتاج مزيدًا من الفحوص.
• لاستكمال التقييم التشخيصي لتحديد احتمالات الإصابة بنوبات صرعية لاحقة.
• لبدء العلاج الملائم في أقرب فرصة ممكنة، إن كان هناك احتمالية أكبر للإصابة بنوبات صرع أخرى.
• في متلازمات معينة، مثل تشنجات الأطفال، والنوبات الصرعية المعتمدة على البيريدوكسين، ومتلازمة درافيت، فإن البدء باكراً بالعلاج المكثف قد يغير مسار المرض.

في عيادة النوبة الصرعية الأولى، يخضع الأطفال واليافعون للتقييم لتحديد ما يلي:

• نوع النوبة الصرعية
• محفزات أو مثيرات النوبة الصرعية
• احتمالية الإصابة بنوبة أخرى
• الاختبارات التشخيصية الأنسب، إن كان تخطيط كهربية الدماغ لازمًا فيمكن الترتيب لذلك في نفس الزيارة.

عيادة الصرع المركب

يخضع الأطفال واليافعون المصابون بصرع يصعب السيطرة عليه للتقييم مع مراجعة تفصيلية لنوع الصرع، والأدوية السابقة، والآراء المتعلقة بالمعالجة الحالية. يبذل الأطباء قصارى جهودهم للتوصل إلى السبب الكامن وراء إصابة طفلك بالصرع، ويقترح الطبيب علاج مخصص للطفل حسب نوع الصرع. إذا كان نوع الصرح من الصعب السيطرة عليه باستخدام الأدوية المضادة للصرع، يخضع المرضى للتقييم فيما يخص علاجات أخرى للمساعدة في السيطرة على الصرع.

يمكن أن تتضمن بدائل الأدوية المضادة للصرع النظام الغذائي الكيتوني، أو تنبيه العصب الحائر، أو جراحة الصرع. يمكن أن يتطلب التقييم التفصيلي لمرضى الصرع المركب المزيد من الفحوصات والمبيت في وحدة مراقبة الصرع للأطفال، وهو ما يمكن الترتيب له في المستشفى الأمريكي في دبي.

خدمات تخطيط كهربية الدماغ

نقدم مجموعة متنوعة من الخدمات التشخيصية العصبية في بيئة خاصة ومريحة للأطفال. تدرب أخصائيو فسيولوجيا الأعصاب لدينا على التقنيات التشخيصية العصبية للأطفال. تتضمن الخدمات المقدمة ما يلي:

• تخطيط كهربية الدماغ (EEG) القياسي
• تخطيط كهربية الدماغ مع نقص النوم
• تخطيط كهربية الدماغ المطوَل
• تخطيط كهربية الدماغ بالفيديو خلال الليل

تخطيط كهربية الدماغ القياسي (الروتيني)

في المعتاد، نقوم باختبار تخطيط كهربية الدماغ القياسي في غرفة العيادة بينما يكون المريض مستيقظًا.

تخطيط كهربية الدماغ مع نقص النوم

يمكن إجراء اختبار تخطيط كهربية الدماغ مع نقص النوم عندما يكون مقدار ما حصل عليه الطفل من نوم أقل من المعتاد في الليلة قبل الدراسة ("أي أن يكون محرومًا من النوم"). عندما يُحرم المرضى من النوم، تزداد فرصة رصد اضطراب النشاط الكهربي (إن كان موجودًا). قبل اختبار تخطيط كهربية الدماغ مع نقص النوم، يُطلب إبقاء الأطفال بعمر ما قبل دخول المدرسة (أقل من 5 سنوات) السهر إلى أقصى وقت ممكن (حتى مرور 3 ساعات على موعد نومهم المعتاد) والاستيقاظ قبل ساعتين على الأقل من موعد استيقاظهم المعتاد. ينبغي اتخاذ الحذر ومناقشة الطبيب إن كان الحرمان من النوم يحفز إصابة الطفل بنوبة صرعية. في تلك الحالة، قد يمكن الاكتفاء بإيقاظ الطفل قبل موعده المعتاد في يوم اختبار تخطيط كهربية الدماغ.

تخطيط كهربية الدماغ المطوَل

يتضمن تخطيط كهربية الدماغ المطوَل تسجيلًا لتخطيط كهربية الدماغ لمدة تصل 3 ساعات في العيادة الخارجية. نقوم بالاختبار في المستشفى الأمريكي في دبي في قسم ملائم ومريح للأطفال الذين يحتاجون تسجيلًا مطولًا وإن كانوا غير مرشحين لتسجيل تخطيط كهربية الدماغ خلال الليل.

دراسة تخطيط كهربية الدماغ بالفيديو خلال الليل

لا يخضع لتلك الدراسة إلا أفراد مختارين لتسجيل تخطيط كهربية الدماغ خلال حالة الاستيقاظ والنوم الطبيعية. تتطلب الدراسة المبيت في المستشفى الأمريكي في دبي، حيث يقوم الأخصائي بتخطيط كهربية الدماغ بالفيديو خلال الليل. تشبه تلك الدراسة تخطيط كهربية الدماغ القياسي، إلا أن التسجيلات تستمر لعدة ساعات في المستشفى مع القدرة على تسجيل خصائص تخطيط كهربية الدماغ أثناء النوم، وتسجيل الأحداث التي تثير الاشتباه بنوبة صرعية.

 

أطباء قسم خدمة الصرع الشاملة للأطفال

عبيد حميد شاه

استشاري طب أعصاب الأطفال

الإنجليزية, أوردو

تحميل المزيد

Pediatric Epilepsy service

At American Hospital Dubai we provide a dedicated Comprehensive Pediatric Epilepsy service. The service is led by our Pediatric Epileptologist Dr. Ubaid Shah who has over a decade of experience in evaluating patients with epilepsy. The service provides the latest neuro-diagnostic tests to determine the underlying cause and provide the best treatment available.

 

What is Epilepsy?

Description

Epilepsy is a condition of the nervous system in which the person experiences recurrent seizures or convulsions. The seizures occur because of the abnormal signals sent by the cluster cells or neurons in the brain.

Causes

In children epilepsy can be due to abnormal brain development, genetic reasons, head injuries, fever, infection of the brain or its surrounding membranes (meningitis), and hydrocephalus (excess fluid within the brain).

Symptoms

Children with epilepsy may experience strange sensations, emotions, and behavior along with convulsions, muscle spasms, and even loss of consciousness.

Diagnosis

Detailed analysis of the events (semiology) and thorough physical examination may be sufficient to make the diagnosis of epilepsy. Additional tests are usually required to determine the epilepsy type and try to find an underlying cause. An Electroencephalogram (EEG) test may be suggested to check the electrical activity in the brain. An EEG records the brain's electrical activity via electrodes attached to your child's scalp. Children with epilepsy can have irregular electrical activity on their EEG. Scans of the brain, such as an MRI scan or a PET scan may also be done.

Treatment

Treatment of epilepsy depends on the underlying cause. Anti-seizure medications are the mainstay of treatment. Pediatric Neurologists and epileptologists have expertise in determining the best medication depending on the type of epilepsy.

 

What if medications are not working?

One-third of patients with epilepsy can have Drug-Resistant Epilepsy. If medications do not work, your child should be seen by an Epileptologist who has specialized additional expertise to determine the best course of action. The epileptologist may suggest surgery or implanted devices such as vagus nerve stimulators. Some patients with epilepsy may benefit from brain surgery where the abnormal brain cells causing the seizures are removed to control the seizures. In some cases, a device called a vagus nerve stimulator (VNS) is implanted underneath the skin of the chest, like a heart pacemaker, to control the number of seizures experienced. Some children with epilepsy are recommended to follow a special diet called a ketogenic diet to help prevent seizures.

 

First Seizure clinic

‘Funny turns’ are very common in children and may be a manifestation of childhood epilepsy. At the first seizure clinic, we offer a comprehensive evaluation of ‘funny turns’ including clinical assessment, a detailed review of clinical semiology, and other information to arrive at the diagnosis of whether a funny turn is a seizure or not and if a seizure then evaluation of the underlying childhood epilepsy syndrome and recommendation for appropriate treatment.

Children with funny turns should preferably be seen within days of their first ‘seizure’ for several reasons:

• To determine if it was an epileptic seizure as the rate of misdiagnosis varies from 5-23 % in different studies and possible cause(s) that need further investigation.
• To complete a diagnostic evaluation to determine risks for additional seizures.
• To begin appropriate treatment as soon as possible, if there is a high risk for additional seizures.
• In certain syndromes, such as Infantile spasms, Pyridoxine dependent seizures, and Dravet syndrome, early aggressive treatment may change the course of illness

At the First Seizure Clinic children and adolescents will be evaluated to determine:

• the type of seizure
• Identify triggers or What provoked the seizure
• The likelihood of having another one
• The most appropriate diagnostic tests to obtain. If an EEG is needed this can be arranged at the same visit.

 

Complex Epilepsy Clinic

Children and adolescents with difficult-to-control epilepsy are evaluated with a detailed review of the epilepsy type, previous medication review, and opinion about the current management. Every attempt will be made to know the underlying cause of your child’s epilepsy and a tailored treatment will be suggested depending on the cause of epilepsy. Patients will also be assessed for other therapies if their epilepsy is not controlled with a combination of anti-seizure medications.

The alternatives to anti-seizure medication may include a ketogenic diet, Vagal Nerve Stimulation, or Epilepsy surgery. Detailed evaluation of complex epilepsy patients may require further investigations and admission for the dedicated Pediatric Epilepsy Monitoring that can be arranged at the American Hospital Dubai.

 

EEG Services

We provide a range of neuro-diagnostic services in a private child-friendly setting. Our Neurophysiology scientist is trained in pediatric neuro-diagnostic techniques. The services provided include:

• Standard Electroencephalography (EEG)
• Sleep deprived EEG
• Prolonged EEG
• Overnight Video EEG

Standard (Routine) EEG

Usually, a standard EEG test will be done in the clinic room. This study is normally performed in awake patients.

Sleep-deprived EEG

A sleep-deprived EEG test is done when a child has had less sleep than usual, the night before the study (‘sleep deprived’). When patients are sleep deprived, there is a higher chance that abnormal electrical activity (if present) will be detected. Before a sleep-deprived EEG test, school-aged children (>5 years) will be asked to stay up as late as possible (3 hours past the normal bedtime) and to wake up at least 2 hours earlier than normal. Care should be taken and a discussion with your doctor should occur if your sleep deprivation is a trigger for your child’s seizure. In that case, it may be possible just to wake your child up earlier than usual on the day of the EEG test.

Prolonged EEG

Prolonged EEG involves EEG recording for up to 3 hours in an outpatient setting. The procedure is performed at American Hospital Dubai and is ideal for children who need prolonged recording but are not candidates for overnight EEG recording.

Overnight video-EEG study

This study is reserved for selected individuals to capture EEG during a normal awake and sleep state. This study requires admission to The American Hospital Dubai and the video EEG recording occurs overnight. This study is similar to a standard EEG except that it records for a number of hours in the hospital with the ability to capture sleep EEG features and record events suspicious of a seizure.

 

Doctors Panel of Pediatric Epilepsy service

Ubaid Hameed Shah

Consultant Pediatric Neurologist

English, Urdu

Load More